The Berlin Sonatas

Buy Tickets Online

Berlin was a crossroad for young composers in the 1700s. These emerging virtuosos came to Germany’s capital seeking inspiration, the excitement of the royal court, and, most importantly, the mentorship of Johann Sebastian Bach. On her five-string baroque cello and joined by lauded Italian keyboardist Lorenzo Ghielmi, Elinor Frey explores the “Sensibility (Empfindsamkeit)” – fleeting and instantaneous expression of emotion – that lies in the work of J.C.F. Bach, C.P.E. Bach, C.F. Abel, Johann Kirnberger, and C.H. Graun.


Elinor Frey, baroque cello
Lorenzo Ghielmi, harpsichord


Abel: Sonata for violoncello and basso continuo in G major, WKO 147
Kirnberger: Sonata for violoncello and basso continuo in C major
Bach: Claviersonata in G Major
Benda: Progressive Exercise No. 25: Allegro moderato (from “Exercises progressifs”)
Benda: Caprice No. 16: Moderato (from “Étude de Violon ou Caprices”)
Graun: Sonata for violoncello solo in C major
Bach: Sonata for violoncello and basso continuo in A major

Join Facebook Event

Event Location

 380 Sussex Drive

 1, 9

Email Newsletter

Be the first to know about additions and changes to our concert calendar.

Soyez avertis des ajouts et modifications apportées à notre calendrier de concerts.

By submitting this form, you grant permission to the Ottawa Chamber Music Society, 4 Florence Street Ste 201, Ottawa ON K2P 0W7 (613-234-8008) to email you. You may Unsubscribe at any time.

En soumettant ce formulaire, vous autorisez la Société de musique de chambre d'Ottawa, 4 rue Florence bureau 201, Ottawa ON K2P 0W7 (613-234-8008) à vous envoyer des courriels. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment.