Wed Oct 11 19:00

Augustin Hadelich, violin and Orion Weiss, piano

The 2023-24 Concert Series opens with a spectacular recital from Grammy award-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich and pianist Orion Weiss, featuring Beethoven’s lyrical Sonata No. 10 and Prokofiev’s haunting Violin Sonata No. 1. The programme also features John Adams’ Road Movies, described as a “joyful romp,” and the reverie of Amy Beach’s “Romance, Op. 23.”

Hadelich has performed with every major orchestra in the US, many on numerous occasions, as well as an ever-growing number of major orchestras in the UK, Europe, and Asia, “The essence of Hadelich’s playing is beauty: reveling in the myriad ways of making a phrase come alive on the violin, delivering the musical message with no technical impediments whatsoever, and thereby revealing something from a planet beyond ours” (The Washington Post). Hadelich’s appearances as a soloist include guest engagements with the most celebrated ensembles in the world, including the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields, Berlin Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, NHK Symphony Orchestra (Tokyo), Oslo Philharmonic, and Philadelphia Orchestra, among others.

One of the most sought-after soloists and chamber music collaborators of his generation, Orion Weiss is widely regarded as a “brilliant pianist” (The New York Times) with “powerful technique and exceptional insight” (The Washington Post). With a warmth to his playing that outwardly reflects his engaging personality, Weiss has dazzled audiences with his passionate, lush sound and performed with dozens of orchestras in North America, including the Chicago Symphony, Boston Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, and New York Philharmonic.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op. 96
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio espressivo
III. Scherzo: Allegro – Trio
IV. Poco allegretto

John Adams (b. 1947)
Road Movies

Daniel Bernard Roumain (b. 1971)


Sergei Prokofiev (1891 – 1953)
Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80
I. Andante assai
II. Allegro brusco
III. Andante
IV. Allegrissimo

Amy Beach (1867 – 1944)
Romance, Op. 23

Buy Subscription

Download Programme PDF

This concert is presented with support from Steinway Piano Gallery Ottawa.

Steinway Piano Gallery Ottawa

For our latest news, alerts and offers


Contact Us

Monday - Thursday 10am - 4pm

4 Florence Street, Suite 201

Ottawa ON K2P 0W7 Canada


Ottawa Chamberfest is located on the unceded, unsurrendered Territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation.

Pin It on Pinterest