Tue Feb 13 19:00

Isabelle Faust, violin, Alexander Melnikov, piano, Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

The legendary trio of violinist Isabelle Faust, pianist Alexander Melnikov, and Canadian-born cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras make their Ottawa debut, playing a thrilling program of seminal works of the trio repertoire. Having these international stars on our stage is excitement enough; to have them play Brahms’ B major Trio, plus Elliott Carter’s Epigrams and Robert Schumann’s Piano Trio No. 2 In F Major, will be a nothing short of extraordinary.

Having founded a string quartet at the age of 11, Isabelle Faust captivates her audience with her compelling interpretations. She dives deep into every piece, considering the musical historical context, historically appropriate instruments, and the greatest possible authenticity according to a contemporary state of knowledge. After winning the renowned Leopold Mozart Competition and the Paganini Competition at a very young age, she soon gave regular performances with the world’s major orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Les Siècles, and the Baroque Orchestra Freiburg.

Known for his often unusual musical and programmatic decisions, Alexander Melnikov developed his career-long interest in historically informed performance practice early on. He performs regularly with distinguished period ensembles including the Freiburger Barockorchester, Musica Aeterna, and Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin.

Cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras’s versatility in his music making has led to many concert halls, festivals, and orchestras inviting him to be artist in residence, including the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Vredenburg Utrecht, De Bijloke Ghent, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, and Wigmore Hall London.


Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Piano Trio No. 2 In F Major, Op. 80
I. Sehr lebhaft
II. Mit innigem Ausdruck – Lebhaft
III. In mässiger Bewegung
IV. Nicht zu rasch

Elliott Carter (1908 – 2012)
Epigrams for violin, cello, and piano (2012)


Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Piano Trio No. 1 in B major, Op. 8
I. Allegro con brio
II. Scherzo: Allegro molto
III. Adagio
IV. Finale: Allegro

        Download Programme PDF

This concert is presented with support from Steinway Piano Gallery Ottawa.

Steinway Piano Gallery Ottawa

For our latest news, alerts and offers


Contact Us

Monday - Thursday 10am - 4pm

4 Florence Street, Suite 201

Ottawa ON K2P 0W7 Canada



Ottawa Chamberfest is located on the unceded, unsurrendered Territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation.

Pin It on Pinterest